Fayetteville Finance Department wins 23rd consecutive CAFR award

Pictured are (l-r) Council Members Kathaleen Brewer and Paul Oddo, Mayor Ed Johnson, Councilman Harlan Shirley, Deputy Finance Director Carleetha Talmadge, Councilman Scott Stacy, Finance Director Mike Bush, Mayor Pro-Tem Rich Hoffman, and City Manager Ray Gibson.


City of Fayetteville Finance Department personnel have once again been recognized for their hard work and diligence in preparing and reporting the City’s budget.

The Finance Department was recently awarded the Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting by the Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) of the United States and Canada for the Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR) for the fiscal year that ended July 31, 2018. This marks the 23rd consecutive year they have earned this award.

“This is a significant accomplishment for a city of our size,” said Mayor Ed Johnson at the November 7 Fayetteville City Council meeting.

According to GFOA, the Certificate of Achievement is the highest form of recognition in the area of governmental accounting and financial reporting. Assistant Finance Director Carleetha Talmadge, who presented the certificate during the City Council meeting, said it is a whole-team effort with leadership from Finance Director Mike Bush that ensures Fayetteville receives this distinction year after year.

Nov 15, 2019 11:29 am |