Do I live within the Fayetteville city limits?

Having a Fayetteville mailing address does not necessarily mean you live in the City of Fayetteville.

The incorporated City of Fayetteville is entirely surrounded by unincorporated Fayette County, and in some places the city limits are located within a mile or two of unincorporated Clayton County. All Fayetteville city residents and many residents of unincorporated Fayette and Clayton counties have “Fayetteville 30214” or “Fayetteville 30215” mailing addresses, because their mail is delivered from United States Post Office facilities located within the City of Fayetteville.

However, not all of these people are actually Fayetteville city residents.

Here at Fayetteville City Hall, we often receive phone calls and e-mails from unincorporated county residents who ask for city services based on their perception of living in “Fayetteville” or “the Fayetteville area”. And while the City is here to serve everyone it can, some services can only come from the jurisdiction in which a resident actually lives.

To make matters more potentially confusing, a few residents living within Fayetteville city limits pay water bills to the Fayette County Water System, because their home or neighborhood is served with a Fayette County supply line and not a Fayetteville line. As well, some unincorporated Fayette County residents, including some who live in the Chanticleer neighborhood, receive water from the City of Fayetteville. So clearly, it is not sufficient to say you know where you live based on who you pay for water service.

The best way to be sure of your property’s jurisdiction is to check it on an official City of Fayetteville map and by using the Fayette County tax records search on the county’s website.

Note: if your property is in “Tax District 01”, it is in unincorporated Fayette County. If it is in “Tax District 02”, it is in the City of Fayetteville. Peachtree City, Brooks and Tyrone also have their own unique tax districts.

Click Here to Search Tax Records   or   Click here of PDF of the City Limits and Streets

Tax Districts:
01 = Fayette County
02 = Fayetteville
03 = Tyrone
04 = Brooks
05 = Peachtree City