Municipal Court FAQ

Home » City Departments » Public Safety » Municipal Court » Municipal Court FAQ

Municipal Court FAQ’s

Most citations can be paid prior to the court date, indicated near the bottom of the citation without having to appear in court. Failure to appear in court or failure to pay a fine before the court date will result in a license suspension and/or a warrant being issued for the violator’s arrest.

***Effective July 1, 2017 – Georgia Senate Bill 176 – Defendant will have 30 days from missed court date to dispose of citation. A contempt fee of $100 will be assessed. If a defendant’s citation is not disposed of within 30 days from missed court date, a bench warrant and/or license suspension will be issued.

For information concerning mandatory court appearances or the amount of your fine, call 770-719-4277 during normal business hours Monday thru Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Payments by phone: 855-907-3366

Payments online: FayettevillePay.com

Payments in person: Fayetteville Municipal Court, 760 Jimmie Mayfield Boulevard, Fayetteville, GA 30215

Online payments accepted at FayettevillePay.com

If payment is not received before your court date, you are required to appear in Court on the date shown on the traffic citation. 

***Effective July 1, 2017 – Georgia Senate Bill 176 – Defendant will have 30 days from missed court date to dispose of citation. A contempt fee of $100 will be assessed. If a defendant’s citation is not disposed of within 30 days from missed court date, a bench warrant and/or license suspension will be issued.

For information concerning mandatory court appearances or the amount of your fine, call 770-719-4277 during normal business hours Monday thru Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Your driver’s license, if taken, WILL NOT be returned when payment is received by the Clerk’s office.  IF YOU WERE CHARGED FOR DRIVING WITH A SUSPENDED LICENSE, DUI OR FAILURE TO APPEAR you must contact the Department of Motor Vehicle in Conyers, GA. at 678-413-8400 in reference to getting your license back.

If you want to contest your traffic citation, simply appear in court on the date shown on the citation (your arraignment date) and plead NOT GUILTY. You will then be given a Bench Trial court date and you will have the opportunity to state your case before the judge, ask the officer questions, and present witnesses and evidence in your favor.  If you would like to have a Jury Trial, you will need to request in front of the Judge to have your case bound over to the State Court of Fayette County.

Your signature on the bottom of the citation is not an admission of guilt.  It means that you acknowledge having received a copy of the citation and that you will either pay the fine or appear in court on the date indicated.  If you refuse to sign the citation you are subject to being arrested and having to post a bond until you case is heard in court.

Usually our court solicitor will take it into consideration when a defendant has already taken a defensive driving course and brings the certificate of completion with them to court.  He will use that when he approaches the Judge to recommend a reduction in the points that are placed on a defendant’s driving history record. Very seldom is the fine amount reduced and almost never is the ticket dismissed.

Under Georgia law, an officer is not required to show the defendant the speed detection device.  When dealing with RADAR speed enforcement specifically, the officer is required by law to ask if you would like for a calibration check of the unit.  That check is done by the use of calibrated tuning forks which is used to verify that the counter unit in the device is operating properly.  If requested, the officer is obligated by law to perform that calibration check and inform the defendant of the results.  The offender is not entitled to witness this check nor are they entitled to see the RADAR display.  This does not apply to LIDAR (Laser) speed detection devices because the calibration checks for these units cannot be performed roadside.