Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
If you would like to have a Jury Trial in the State Court of Fayette County, you may also request your case to be bound over in front of the Judge on your scheduled court date. Also, you may complete a defendant's request for Jury Trial form in person during normal business hours (ID required) prior to your court date.
Show All Answers
Most citations can be paid prior to the court date, indicated near the bottom of the citation without having to appear in court. Failure to appear in court or failure to pay a fine before the court date will result in a license suspension and/or a warrant being issued for the violator’s arrest.
Failure to Appear - Effective July 1, 2017, per Georgia Senate Bill 176, the Defendant will have 30 days from missed court date to dispose of citation. If a defendant’s citation is not disposed of within 30 days from missed court date, a bench warrant and/or license suspension will be issued. A contempt fee of $100 will be assessed.
For information concerning mandatory court appearances or the amount of your fine, call 770-719-4277 during normal business hours Monday through Thursday, 8 am to 5 pm.
There are a number of ways you can pay your citations:
If payment is not received before your court date, you are required to appear in Court on the date shown on the traffic citation.
Failure to Appear - Failing to pay your fine and/or appear in court, will result in a suspension of your license, and/or warrant may be issued. A Failure to Appear fee will also be assessed.
Your driver’s license, if taken, will not be returned when payment is received by the Clerk’s office.
If you were charged for driving with a suspended license, DUI, or failure to appear, you must contact the Georgia Department of Driver Services at 678-413-8400 in reference to getting your license back.
Your signature on the bottom of the citation is not an admission of guilt. It means that you acknowledge having received a copy of the citation and that you will either pay the fine or appear in court on the date indicated. If you refuse to sign the citation you are subject to being arrested and having to post a bond until your case is heard in court.
Our court solicitor may take completion of defensive driving into consideration when a defendant has taken a course and brings the certificate to the court. Very seldom is a fine amount reduced or dismissed, however, it is up to the court solicitor based on the facts of each case.
Under Georgia law, an officer is not required to show the defendant the speed detection device. When dealing with radar speed enforcement specifically, the officer is required by law to ask if you would like for a calibration check of the unit. That check is done by the use of calibrated tuning forks which is used to verify that the counter unit in the device is operating properly.
If requested, the officer is obligated by law to perform that calibration check and inform the defendant of the results. The offender is not entitled to witness this check nor are they entitled to see the radar display. This does not apply to LIDAR (Laser) speed detection devices because the calibration checks for these units cannot be performed roadside.
Before your appearance in Court, please review the necessary dress code:
Laptops, tablets, cell phones must be in off mode at all times.
The following offenses require a court appearance:
Mandatory court appearance is required for all persons under 21 years of age.
The City Solicitor will be available to discuss your case with you on your trial date prior to your appearance before the judge. You may call the court office at 770-719-4277 to find out the bond amount for your citation. Please allow 72 hours from the time you receive the citation for processing. The office is open Monday through Thursday from 8 am until 5 pm. If you are calling on a scheduled court date, we will return your call the following morning.
If you received a citation that does not require a court appearance you may pay in person, or pay Traffic Tickets online (with a credit card), or by mail. If you would like to pay in person at the court office, payments can be received until 5 pm on the day before your scheduled court date. Please note, there is a service fee for all credit/debit card usage on Fayetteville Pay Ticket and in the office.
Visit our resource directory to find information on other courts in and around Fayetteville.